‘LEGO Store: The Musical’ stars Renée Elise Goldsberry in a NYC Broadway number. | Source: The LEGO Group

We’re not throwing away our shot to see NYC’s newest Broadway performance!

For its opening day of the new LEGO flagship store in New York City, the LEGO Group is gathering together some of Broadway’s biggest stars to premiere LEGO Store: The Musical. The original production emphasizes that “if you can build it here, you can build it anywhere.”

The opening number will mark the first new public Broadway-style performance in more than a year and features the original musical show tune “Always Building.” Starring Renée Elise Goldsberry of Hamilton fame, LEGO Store: The Musical tells the story of a young girl (Brianna Cameron) who joins a cast of Broadway stage actors, real front-line workers, and a collection of fan-favorite LEGO minifigures on a day of building, creativity, and harnessing the spirit of New York City. The story culminates in an opening night at the LEGO flagship store.

‘LEGO Store: The Musical’ features Broadway actors returning after more than a year-long hiatus. | Source: The Lego Group

The performance is stacked with major players in the Broadway world. LEGO tapped Ezra Hurwitz (NYC Ballet, Moulin Rouge, Chicago, Carousel, Oklahoma) to direct the performance, with original songs written by Michael Mahler (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, October Sky). Aside from Goldsberry, the show features a number of Broadway actors, including Zach Bencal (Aladdin), Joomin Hwang (The Prom, In the Heights), and Ava DeMary (Matilda, Evita, Billy Elliot).

But they’re not the only ones stepping onto the stage. LEGO Store: The Musical cast fan-favorite LEGO minifigures as well. Kids will be thrilled to watch Cabaret Singer, Classic Red Spaceman, Construction Worker, and other familiar LEGO characters belt it out with the real-life Broadway stars.

To catch the first, and perhaps only, premiere, of LEGO Store: The Musical, kids can watch the video on YouTube. The NYC LEGO Flagship store on Fifth Avenue opens its door on June 25.